Broker

الفارق

for EURUSD

الحد الأدنى

Deposit

المنصات

Offered

الحساب

Types

الفارق

Type

التمويل

Methods

العميل

Support

التنفيذ

Details
العقود مقابل الفروقات هى منتجات رافعة مالية ويمكن أن تتسبب في خسارتك لرأس مالكأسعار العملات الرقمية يمكن أن تتقلب بنطاق واسع وهي غير مناسبة لجميع المستثمرين. لا تخضع تجارة العملات الرقمية لأي إطار تنظيمي للاتحاد الأوروبي Rankings are influenced by affiliate commissions. All information collected on 1/11/2017.

الدليل النهائي لـ

اختيار وسيط
من أجل Negative Balance Protection

ألست متأكد أي من الوسطاء هو المناسب لك ؟

لا تقلق - نحن نوفر لك التغطية In this guide, you’ll learn:

جاهز ؟

الجزء 1

لماذا تختار
من أجل Negative Balance Protection?

سجل أفضل نقاط في مراجعتنا لأفضل وسطاء التداول لـ negative balance protection, which takes into account 120+ factors across eight categories. Here are some areas where سجل أعلى نقاط في

  • +سنوات في العمل
  • العروض + instruments
  • نطاق المنصة المحدودة
  • 24/7 خدمة عملاء
  • فروقات ضيقة من ألنقاط
  • مستخدم بواسطة0+ المتداولون
  • عرض لحساب تجريبي
  • 0 اللغات

العروض one way للتداول. If أردت أن تتداول EURUSD

The two most important categories in our rating system are the cost of trading and the broker’s trust score. To calculate a broker’s trust score, we take into account a range of العوامل، بما في ذلك تاريخهم التنظيمي، وسنوات العمل، ومزود السيولة. إلخ.

لديك درجة موثوقة، التى تكون. This is largely down to them يكونوا منظمين بواسطة , segregating client funds, being segregating client funds, being أنشئت لأكثر من

مقارنة درجة الثقة

درجة الثقة
سنة الإنشاء
نظمت بواسطة
مصارف المستخدم من الدرجة الأولى
نوع الشركة خاص خاص خاص
تمويل عميل منفصل

الشيء الثاني الذي نتطلع إليه هو القدرة التنافسية الفوارق. وما الرسوم التي تفرضها، قد قارنا كل هذا بالتفصيل في الجزء الثالث of this guide.

الجزء 2

من هل ( و هل لا )
مناسب ل

كما سبق دكره يسمح لك بالتداول في one way: .

Suitable for:

  • مراهنة الفارق
  • CFD Trading
  • تداول الفوركس
  • تداول شبكات التواصل

ليس مناسب ل

للتداول مع , ستحتاج إيداع كحد أدنى ب $. يعرض عدد من أنواع الحسابات المختلفة لمتداولين مختلفين بما في ذلك ال , .

أخيرًا ليست متاحة في الدول التالية . هم لا يعرضونحساب إسلامي .

الجزء 3

مارنة بين مقابل مقابل


هل تريد أن ترى كيف الرفع مقابل و ? لقد قارنا فروقاتهم ومميزاتهم ومعلوماتهم الرئيسية بالأسفل



مقارنة الفروقات والرسوم

الفروقات بالأسفل هي توضيحية. للحصول على معلومات تسعير أكثر دقة، إضغط على اسماء الوسطاء في أعلى الجدول ليفتح لك موقعهم في نافذة جديدة
فروقات ثابتة
فروقات متغيرة
فروقات يورو/دولار
فروقات الجنيه الاسترليني / دولار
دولار أمريكي / دورلار كندي الفوارق
دولار أمريكي / ين ياباتي الفوارق
فروقات مؤشر داكس
فروقات مؤشر فوتسي 100
فروقات مؤشر أس و بي 500

مقارنة مميزات الحساب و التداول

منصة تداول
خدمات
خيارات العملة الأساسية
خيارات التمويل
حسابات متناهية الصغر
حساب شبكة الاتصالات الإلكترونية

الجزء 4

وعلى الرغم من أنها قد تبدو هامة على الرسم البياني، وتقلبات في أداة مالية معينة يمكن أن تكون بسيطة للغاية من حيث القيمة الحقيقية. خذ على سبيل المثال GBP / USD زوج من العملات الأجنبية، والتي على الأخبار من بنك انجلترا رفع أسعار الفائدة في المملكة المتحدة على 2 في الثانية في نوفمبر 2017، والذي عمل سياسة محدود وتدريجي ستتبع، الاسترليني fell around 0.9% أو حوالي 120 نقطة. وكانت هذه الحركة الكبيرة في الأسعار نسبيا للعملة في مثل فترة زمنية قصيرة، ولكن الواقع هو أن متوسط ​​سياح لن إشعار حقا الفرق بين سعر صرف 1.313 و 1.325 دولار للرطل.

ومع ذلك، لتجار الفوركس المهنية، مع مبالغ كبيرة من المال المضاربة على تحركات السوق لزوج العملات، وحتى العادي، يوم لتقلبات يوم 1 نقطة أو أقل يمكن أن يكون لها تأثير كبير.

متوسط ​​التجزئة التجار لا تميل إلى وضع مثل هذه المبالغ الكبيرة على الصفقات، ولكن العديد من الوسطاء الماليين لا تسمح للعملاء التداول على الهامش، وذلك باستخدام النفوذ. وهذا يتيح لهم تضخيم تعرضها لتقلبات صغيرة، مع وديعة تغطي سوى جزء من قيمة الأصل. القوة يمكن أن يكون عادة تصل إلى 1: 300، وهو ما يعني أن مقابل كل جنيه أو دولار وضعت على التجارة، يمكن للعميل أن يتعرض إلى 300 مرة أكبر قدر من الأصول

في حالة المملكة المتحدة سعر الفائدة الافراج عن ارتفاع الأخبار، تاجر فتح التجارة GBP / USD، مع هامش الأولي £1000، بمعدل 1.325، سوف تتعرض لتبلغ قيمتها نحو 397500 £الجنيه الاسترليني. عندما انخفض السوق بنسبة 0.9٪، وهذا من شأنه أن انخفض بنسبة أكثر من 3500 £2500 £أكثر من إيداع وضعت في الأصل على التجارة.

والتقلبات يمكن أن يكون أكثر تطرفا بكثير من هذا، ولكن. وSwiss franc shock في عام 2015 أدت إلى الحوادث التي فقدت تجار القطاع الخاص كميات المدمرة من المال نتيجة للضغط على العقود مقابل الفروقات والمتاجرة بالعملات. وكان واحد من هذه التاجر للضغط من 1: 400 مع هامش من 2800 EUR على التجارة. لأن سعر الصرف قفز بعيدا عن نطاق السعر السابق بسرعة بعد أنباء المفاجئ أن البنك الوطني السويسري وفصل الفرنك السويسري من اليورو، لم يكن لديهم التجار فرصة كافية لإغلاق مواقعهم. وأسفرت هذه التجارة خاصة في فقدان حوالي 280،000 EUR. دون ضغط، وهذا يمكن أن يكون أقرب إلى 700 £.

ما هو السلبية حماية الرصيد؟

وهذه الحالات اشتعلت حتما انتباه المنظمين الماليين في جميع أنحاء العالم، والذين لديهم وقت لاحق المقترح و / أو تطبيق لوائح جديدة حول النفوذ والعقود مقابل الفروقات (عقود الفرق) بشكل عام. هذا هو لضمان حماية التجار عديمي الخبرة الذين لا يفهمون تماما المخاطر التي تنطوي عليها عند التداول على الهامش.

واحدة من الإجراءات التي اتخذتها الجهات التنظيمية مثل BaFin (هيئة الرقابة المالية الاتحادية الألمانية) و CySEC كان (لجنة الاوراق المالية والبورصات قبرص) لإلغاء المدفوعات الإضافية التزام ترتبط مع العقود مقابل الفروقات وهذه المنتجات. هذا ينقل خطر الرصيد السلبي من التاجر إلى مزود CFD أو وسيط الفوركس.

كأداة لتخفيف المخاطر، وسيط قد إجراء مكالمة الهامش، الأمر الذي يتطلب التاجر لتصحيح التوازن السلبي عن طريق زيادة هامش على التجارة أو عن طريق إغلاق التجارة أنفسهم خلال فترة زمنية محددة. إذا لم يتم اتخاذ إجراءات لا من قبل التاجر، ثم وسيط سيغلق تجارة بسعر محدد على منصة في نهاية فترة السماح. وهذا يوفر للمتداول مع حماية توازن السلبية، كما لديهم إما فرصة لتوسيع التجارة من خلال إضافة هامش الصيانة إضافي، أو سيتم إغلاق التجارة قبل السماح وضع التوازن السلبي لتنشأ.

في حالة فجوة الأسعار، أو المفاجئ قفزة الأسعار، لن يكون هناك عادة فرصة لنداء الهامش. ومع ذلك، إذا وسيط يقدم الحقيقية حماية التوازن السلبية، ثم أنها سوف تتحمل المسؤولية عن الخسائر، بدلا من التاجر.

إيجابيات وسلبيات حماية الرصيد السلبي

وميزة واضحة لاختيار وسيط التي توفر حماية التوازن السلبية هي أن التاجر لن تكون مسؤولة عن خسائر أكبر من التوازن في تجارتهم الحساب. يفترض الوسيط المسؤولية عن هذا الخطر، وسيتم تطبيق استدعاء الهامش حيثما كان ذلك ممكنا لحماية أنفسهم ضدها.

والسبب هذا يمكن أن يكون غير ملائم هو أنه قد يؤدي إلى التجارة التي يجري إغلاقها من قبل وسيط فقط قبل الأسواق تتحرك مرة أخرى في صالح التاجر. وهذا يعني أن التاجر سوف تعاني من خسائر للتجارة، حيث أنها قد استعادت موقف طيب من قبل على عقد لتجارة لفترة أطول. ومع ذلك، ينبغي للنداء الهامش منحهم الفرصة لاتخاذ هذا القرار.

وثمة عيب آخر استشهد بها السماسرة هو أن هذا يمكن أن يؤدي إلى زيادة تكاليف الوساطة، لأنها تعويض الخسائر التي تكبدتها نتيجة لتوفير الحماية التوازن السلبية، من خلال أتعابهم.

ويقول بعض السماسرة أيضا أن التخلص من واجب دفع مبالغ إضافية للتجار يمكن أن يؤدي إلى سلوك التداول أكثر خطورة، والتاجر ليست مسؤولة عن تحمل المدى الكامل للخسائر.

سياسة CySEC على حماية الرصيد السلبي

وبعد نشر Questions and Answers document from ESMA (أوراق المالية الأوروبية و هيئة الأسواق) في أكتوبر عام 2016، فيما يتعلق بتوفير العقود مقابل الفروقات وهذه المنتجات لتجار التجزئة، أصدرت تعميما CySEC (Circular 168) لمواصلة تقديم التوجيه إلى قبرص شركات الاستثمار (CIFS).

نقطة واحدة التي لفتت CySEC اهتماما خاصا لواستخدام النفوذ. التعميم تعليمات CIFS للتأكد من أن الرافعة المالية عرضت على منصة لم يكن فوق 01:50. أن اختبار ملاءمتها يجب تحديد ما إذا كان ارتفاع ضغط ينبغي أن تقدم للعملاء. وأن سياسة النفوذ شاملة ينبغي أن توضع في المكان.

وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، هناك حاجة الشركات لوضع حماية التوازن السلبي في مكان، وضمان أن خسائر العملاء لن تتجاوز الأموال المتاحة لديها.

وفي الآونة الأخيرة، وقد شعرت CySEC على ضرورة أن أكرر وتوضيح المتطلبات. في هم announcement في ال18 سبتمبر 2017، وفسر أن الحد الأقصى متطلبات خسارتهم ينطبق على حساب خاص للعميل، بدلا من أن يقتصر على التجارة. وهذا يعني أن وسيط يمكن استخدام وظائف أخرى العميل ضمن نفس الحساب لتعويض الرصيد السلبي من تجارة الاستدانة.

سياسة هيئة الرقابة المالية الاتحادية على حماية الرصيد السلبي

وهيئة الرقابة المالية الاتحادية التشاور مطولا على قضية العقود مقابل الفروقات، في نهاية المطاف إصدار من المباراة النهائية General Administrative Act حول هذا الموضوع مايو 2017.

وخلال المشاورات العملية، كان هناك مقاومة معتدلة إلى الإجراء المقترح لحظر تسويق وبيع العقود مقابل الفروقات مع التزام مبالغ إضافية لتجار التجزئة. ومع ذلك، المتنازع عليها هيئة الرقابة المالية الاتحادية الاعتراضات واستخدام القوى تدخل منتجاتها لتطبيق قيود.

ومنظم جادل بأنه كانت الخسائر المحتملة لا تحصى للعملاء والتجار عديمي الخبرة يجب أن تكون محمية بشكل كاف ضد هذه الخسائر. كما أنها تعتبر ميزات تخفيف المخاطر مثل المكالمات الهامش ووقف أوامر خسارة غير كافية لحماية المستهلكين، نقلا عن فجوات السعر كسبب. حتى لم guaranteed stop loss ميزات لا تقدم التجار الحماية التي المطلوبة وفقا لهيئة الرقابة المالية الاتحادية، وعلى الرغم من أنها تحمي ضد ارتفاع الأسعار، فهي ليست ولذلك لم يطبق إلزاميا ومن قبل العديد من التجار عديمي الخبرة.

وجاءت هذه القواعد حيز التنفيذ لشركات تنظيم الألمانية في أغسطس 2017، على الرغم من أن عدد الذين كانوا في الواقع تقدم بالفعل حماية التوازن السلبية للعملاء.

سياسة FCA على حماية الرصيد السلبي

وFCA’s proposals around CFD products لم يتضمن هذا التقييد، ومع ذلك كانوا أكثر صرامة بكثير فيما يتعلق النفوذ، متوجا بذلك في 01:25 لتجار مع خبرة قليلة، و01:50 لمزيد من التجار من ذوي الخبرة.

الوسطاء التي تقدم السلبية حماية الرصيد

والكثير وسطاء ينظم على الانترنت تقدم بعض الحماية التوازن السلبية، على الرغم من أن بعضها أكثر صرامة حول متطلبات أكثر من غيرها.

وسيط منظم هيئة الرقابة المالية الاتحادية، XTB تقدم الحقيقية حماية التوازن السلبية عن طريق ضمان أن الخسائر العميل تقتصر على الأموال المتاحة في حساباتهم. وهذا يعني أن العملاء لا يسمح للدخول في الحالة التي تكون فيها أنهم مدينون المال وسيط. وتقدم هذه الحماية أيضا في ولايات قضائية أخرى، مثل المملكة المتحدة.

Plus500 توفير الحماية التوازن السلبية، ومع ذلك اعترف بأن الوضع رصيد سلبي مؤقت قد يحدث في الفترة التالية لنداء الهامش وقبل اتخاذ أي إجراء، سواء من قبل العميل أو عن طريق وسيط.

IG نقدم أيضا قدرا من الحماية التوازن سلبية من خلال خاصية استدعاء الهامش. ومع ذلك، على الرغم من أن هذا يسمح IG إلى اتخاذ الإجراءات اللازمة لمنع الرصيد السلبي تحدث عن طريق إغلاق التجارة، لأنها تجعل من الواضح أنه لا يمكن ضمان ضد رصيد سلبي يحدث وعلى التجار استخدام يضمن وقف فقدان الميزة إذا كانت تريد أن تكون على يقين من أن بها لن تتجاوز خسائر الأموال في حساباتهم.


انتقل إلى الأعلى
Loading icon

Company

Spread

for EURUSD

Min.

Deposit

Platforms

Offered

Account

Types

Spread

Type

Funding

Methods

Customer

Support

Execution

Details

Markets.com

Offers five ways to trade: Forex, Shares, Indices, Commodities, ETF and CFD

 
Markets.com
See Details Try a Demo
Your capital is at risk/span>
$100Min. Deposit Learn More
  • MT4
  • WebTrader
  • Mobile apps
See Platforms
  • Micro
  • Standard
  • VIP
See All Accounts
  • Fixed
  • Variable

See Spreads
  • Bank transfer
  • Credit cards
  • PayPal
See Methods
  • Live chat
  • Phone support
  • Email support
Contact Details
  • Market Maker
  • DMA
  • ECN
Learn More
Trust Score:

B

0

Established in:

2008

Regulated by:

CySEC, Financial Services Boar...

CFDs are leveraged products and can result in the loss of your capital. Rankings are influenced by affiliate commissions. All information collected on 1/11/2017.

The Ultimate Guide to

Choosing a Broker
For Negative Balance Protection

Not sure which broker is right for you?

Don’t worry - we’ve got you covered. In this guide, you’ll learn:

Ready?

Part 1

Why Choose Markets.com
For Negative Balance Protection?

Markets.com scored best in our review of the top brokers for negative balance protection, which takes into account 120+ factors across eight categories. Here are some areas where Markets.com scored highly in:

  • 9+ years in business
  • Offers + instruments
  • A range of platform inc. MT4, Web Trader, Tablet & Mobile apps
  • 24/7 customer service
  • Tight spreads from 2.0 pips
  • Used by + traders
  • Allows hedging
  • 5 languages
  • Leverage up to 100:1

Markets.com offers five ways to trade: Forex, Shares, Indices, Commodities, ETF and CFD. If you wanted to trade EURUSD through copy trading or other means, skip to part two.

The two most important categories in our rating system are the cost of trading and the broker’s trust score. To calculate a broker’s trust score, we take into account a range of factors, including their regulation history, years in business, liquidity provider etc.

Markets.com have a B trust score, which is good. This is largely down to them being regulated by CySEC, Financial Services Board, segregating client funds, being established for over 9 years, and much more. For comparison:

Trust Score comparsion

Markets.com
Trust Score B
Year Established 2008
Regulated by CySEC, Financial Services Board
Uses tier 1 banks
Company Type Public Private Private
Segregates client funds

The second thing we look for is the competitiveness of the spreads, and what fees they charge. We've compared these in detail in part three of this guide.

Part 2

Who Markets.com is (& Isn’t)
Suitable For

As mentioned, Markets.com allows you to trade in five ways: Forex, Shares, Indices, Commodities, ETF and CFD.

Suitable for:

  • CFD Trading
  • Forex Trading

Not Suitable for:

To trade with Markets.com, you'll need a minimum deposit of $100. Markets.com offers a range of different account types for different traders including a mini account, vip account.

Finally, Markets.com isn't available in the following countries: AF, DZ, AS, AO, AU, BE, BA, BR, KH, CA, CN, CU, KR, GU, GY, HK, ID, IR, IQ, IL, JP, LA, MO, MY, MM, NZ, MP, PA, PG, PH, PR, RU, SG, KR, SD, SY, TW, TH, TR, UG, VI, VU, USA, VN, YE.

Part 3

A Comparison of Markets.com vs. vs.


Want to see how Markets.com stacks up against and ? We've compared their spreads, features, and key information below.



Spread & fee comparsion

The spreads below are illustrative. For more accurate pricing information, click on the names of the brokers at the top of the table to open their websites in a new tab.
Markets.com
Fixed Spreads
Variable Spreads
EUR/USD Spread 2.0
GBP/USD Spread 2.0
USD/CAD Spread 3.0
USD/JPY Spread 3.0
DAX Spread 2
FTSE 100 Spread 2
S&P500 Spread 1

Comparison of account & trading features

Markets.com
Spread type
EUR/USD Spread 2008
EUR/GBP Spread CySEC, Financial Services Board
Crude Oil Spread
Gold Spread Public Private Private
DAX Spread

Part 4

Although they may appear significant on a chart, fluctuations on a particular financial instrument can be quite minor in real terms. Take for example the GBP/USD foreign currency pair, which upon the news of the Bank of England raising interest rates in the UK on the 2nd November 2017, and that limited and gradual policy action would follow, sterling fell around 0.9% or around 120 pips. This was a relatively large price movement for the currency in such as short time span, but the reality is that the average holidaymaker would not really notice the difference between an exchange rate of 1.313 and 1.325 dollars to the pound.

However, to professional Forex traders, with significant sums of money speculating on the market movements of the currency pair, even normal, day to day fluctuations of 1 pip or less can have a huge impact.

Average retail traders do not tend to place such large sums on trades, however many financial brokers do allow clients to trade on margin, using leverage. This enables them to amplify their exposure to the small fluctuations, with a deposit that just covers a fraction of the value of the underlying asset. Leverage can typically be as high as 1:300, which means that for every pound or dollar placed on the trade, the client can be exposed to 300 times as much of the asset.

In the case of the UK interest rate rise news release, a trader opening a GBP/USD trade, with a £1000 initial margin, at a rate of 1.325, would be exposed to around £397,500 worth of sterling. When the market dropped 0.9%, this would have dropped by over £3500 – £2500 more than the deposit originally placed on the trade.

Fluctuations can be much more extreme than this, however. The Swiss franc shock in 2015 gave rise to incidents where private traders lost ruinous amounts of money as a result of leverage on CFDs and currency trades. One such trader had a leverage of 1:400 with a margin of EUR 2,800 on a trade. Because the exchange rate jumped away from the previous price range so quickly following sudden news that the Swiss National Bank was decoupling the Swiss franc from the euro, traders did not have sufficient opportunity to close their positions. This particular trade resulted in a loss of around EUR 280,000. Without the leverage, this would have been closer to £700.

What is Negative Balance Protection?

Such instances inevitably caught the attention of the financial regulators around the world, who subsequently have proposed and/or applied new regulations around leverage and CFDs (contracts for difference) in general. This is to ensure the protection of inexperienced traders who do not fully understand the risks involved when trading on margin.

One of the actions taken by regulators such as BaFin (the German Federal Financial Supervisory Authority) and CySEC (the Cyprus Securities and Exchange Commission) was to abolish the additional payments obligation associated with CFDs and such products. This transfers the negative balance risk from the trader to the CFD provider or Forex broker.

As a risk mitigation tool, the broker may place a margin call, which requires the trader to correct a negative balance by increasing the margin on the trade or by closing the trade themselves within a specified time period. If neither action is taken by the trader, then the broker will close the trade at the price specified on the platform at the end of the grace period. This provides the trader with negative balance protection, as they either have opportunity to extend their trade by adding additional maintenance margin, or the trade will be closed before allowing a negative balance situation to arise.

In the case of a price gap, or abrupt price jump, there will not usually be the opportunity for a margin call. However, if a broker offers true negative balance protection, then they will assume responsibility for the losses, rather than the trader.

Pros & Cons of Negative Balance Protection

The clear advantage of choosing a broker that offers negative balance protection is that a trader will never be liable for losses greater than the balance of their trading account. The broker assumes responsibility for this risk, and will apply a margin call where possible to protect themselves against it.

The reason this can be disadvantageous is that it may result in a trade being closed out by the broker just prior to the markets moving back in favour of the trader. This means that the trader will suffer the losses of the trade, where they could have regained a favourable position by holding on to the trade for longer. However, the margin call should give them the opportunity to make this decision.

Another disadvantage cited by brokers is that this can lead to increased brokerage costs, as they recoup the losses incurred as a result of providing negative balance protection, through their fees.

Some brokers also argue that disposing of the additional payments obligation for traders can lead to more risky trading behaviour, as the trader is not responsible for bearing the full extent of the losses.

CySEC Policy on Negative Balance Protection

Following the publication of a Questions and Answers document from ESMA (European Securities and Markets Authority) in October 2016, regarding the provision of CFDs and such products to retail traders, CySEC released a circular (Circular 168) to provide further guidance to Cyprus Investment Firms (CIFs).

One point that CySEC drew particular attention to was the use of leverage. The circular instructed CIFs to ensure that the default leverage offered on the platform was not above 1:50; that an appropriateness test should determine whether higher leverage should be offered to clients; and that a thorough leverage policy should be put in place.

In addition, firms were required to put negative balance protection in place, ensuring that clients’ losses would never exceed their available funds.

More recently, CySEC have felt the need to reiterate and clarify the requirement. In their announcement on 18th September 2017, they explicate that their maximum loss requirement applies to a client’s particular account, rather than being restricted to a trade. This means that the broker can use a client’s other positions within the same account to offset a negative balance from a leveraged trade.

BaFin Policy on Negative Balance Protection

BaFin consulted at length on the issue of CFDs, eventually issuing their final General Administrative Act on the subject in May 2017.

During the consultation process, there was moderate resistance to the proposed measure of prohibiting the marketing and sale of CFDs with an additional payments obligation to retail traders. However, BaFin disputed the objections and used their product intervention powers to apply the restriction.

The regulator argued that as potential losses were incalculable for clients, inexperienced traders should be sufficiently protected against such losses. They also deemed risk mitigation features such as margin calls and stop loss orders to be insufficient to protect consumers, citing price gapping as a reason. Even guaranteed stop loss features did not offer traders the protection they required according to BaFin, as although they protect against price spikes, they are not compulsory and are therefore not applied by many inexperienced traders.

The rules came into effect for German regulated firms in August 2017, although many were in practice already offering negative balance protection to clients.

FCA Policy on Negative Balance Protection

The FCA’s proposals around CFD products did not include this restriction, however they were much more strict with regards to leverage, capping this at 1:25 for traders with little experience, and 1:50 for more experienced traders.

Brokers That Offer Negative Balance Protection

Many online regulated brokers offer some degree of negative balance protection, although some are more stringent about the requirements than others.

As a BaFin regulated broker, XTB offer true negative balance protection by ensuring that client losses are limited to the available funds in their accounts. This means that clients are not permitted to enter a situation where they owe the broker money. This protection is also offered in the other jurisdictions, such as the UK.

Plus500 offer negative balance protection, however concede that a temporary negative balance situation may occur in the interval following a margin call and prior to any action being taken, either by the client or by the broker.

IG also offer a degree of negative balance protection through their margin call feature. However, although this allows IG to take action to prevent a negative balance occurring by closing a trade, they make it clear that they cannot guarantee against a negative balance occurring and traders should use the guaranteed stop loss feature if they want to be certain that their losses will not exceed the funds in their account.


Jump to top
Loading icon